Erasmus University Rotterdam - Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences


Welcome to Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences (ESSB)

ESSB is home to a vast diversity of study programmes and scientific disciplines: Public Administration, Pedagogical Sciences, Psychology and Sociology. In addition, the Erasmus University College, IHS, and two research institutes RISBO and DRIFT are linked to the faculty. Our education is small-scale and based around Problem Based Learning (PBL). Being connected to the professional field is another characteristic of our study programmes.


The final responsibility for the faculty board and management of the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences (ESSB) lies with the dean. The dean is supported by his staff, consisting of the dean, a student member, the faculty director and the policy advisors education and research and the business controller. Since the 1st of September 2015 this staff is compiled as follows:

  • Prof.dr. V.J.J.M. Bekkers (dean)
  • Mw.dr. A.M.Ph. de Jong (faculty director)
  • Mw. J. Dekkers-de Leeuw MSc (policy advisor Research)
  • Dhr. M.G.J.M. Adriaans MSc (policy advisor Education)
  • Dhr. B. Looije (business controller)
  • Mw. Nicky van de Lagemaat (student member)

Faculty Council

In case of important faculty matters, consult the dean with the faculty council. The faculty council also acts as a co-decision body at the faculty level. The faculty council consists of 50% of students and 50% of employees of the ESSB.

Organizational components

The faculty has the following capacity groups, in which the academic personnel and the support and management staff is housed:

  • Department of Public Administration and Sociology. Chairman: Prof.Dr R.J. van der Veen
  • Department of Psychology, Education & Child Studies. Chairman: Dr A.C.C.M. Smeets and Prof.Dr P.J. Prinzie
  • Erasmus University College. Dean: Prof.Dr M.A. Frens

Education and research directors

The education and research within Public Administration, Psychology, Sociology and Pedagogical Sciences are housed in programmes. The management over these programmes lies with the education and research directors. Currently, the following directors are in place:

Public Administration - Sociology

  • Education Director: Prof.Dr M. Haverland
  • Research Director: Prof.Dr P.A. Dykstra

Psychology - Pedagogical Sciences

  • Education Director: Dr A.A.C.M. Smeets
  • Research Director: Prof.Dr P.J. Prinzie

Faculty office

All support and management staff who do not specifically work for one science-based area are housed in the faculty office. The faculty office is headed by the faculty director: mw.dr. A.M.Ph. de Jong.

Joint decision making

Joint decision making means that various stakeholders are able to participate in discussions on important topics. At the ESSB students, either in a group or individually, can join discussions with professors and employees of the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences in order to represent students and their opinion. Students are active in joint decision-making processes at different levels, thus conveying their ideas and complaints.

This part of the website gives information on the various possibilities to participate in joint decision making at the ESSB, how this is organised and where to go to in case of a complaint about the education.

There are various joint decision-making bodies & stakeholders at the ESSB:

  • Educational committees
  • The Faculty Council
  • The University Council
  • Student members of board councils
  • The student member of the Management Team

Student Consultative Body of the Faculty

The above-mentioned bodies and stakeholders are represented in the Student Consultative Body of the Faculty (abbreviation in Dutch: FSO). During a monthly meeting, representatives of the various joint decision-making bodies of the ESSB gather in order to discuss matters related to education. The Commissioner Education of student association Cedo Nulli is the chairperson of this meeting. He or she presides the Student Consultative Body of the Faculty and stimulates joint decision making.

During the meeting, matters related to education that could be of interest to students are discussed. All stakeholders discuss current affairs, exchange information and try to learn from each other.

Furthermore, all the complaints that Cedo Nulli collects are forwarded to the joint decision-making body that is most apt to handle the specific complaint. For more information about complaints: please consult the section ‘Complaint Regulation’ on the website.


Faculty of Social Sciences 1963 -

It is important to record and tell the history of the Faculty of Social Sciences*. Thus, the current situation of the faculty can be understood and the memory of the organisation is preserved. Since the founding of the faculty in 1963, the story of the faculty has been written down twice. The first time was when the faculty celebrated its 40th anniversary. The celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the faculty was the second occasion the story of the faculty was published.

* Since the 1st of September 2017, the name of the faculty is Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences.



Erasmus University Rotterdam

Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam
Faculteit der Sociale Wetenschappen
Mandeville Building, T15-19
Postbus 1738
3000 DR Rotterdam

Rotterdam, South Holland, Netherlands
+31 10 408 1111

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you